Happy Cinco De Mayo!

I have always thought that it was hilarious (and sad) that most Americans rush out to Mexican restaurants on Cinco De Mayo and enjoy a relaxing dinner while the workers of these restaurants (usually Hispanic) have to serve us while they should be the ones out celebrating. 

Unfortunately, I did not get to eat any Mexican food today.  My sister Allison and I went to Moes because they were having $3 burritos all day, but once we got there and saw the line that resembled a line for a Six-Flags ride, we turned right around and headed to Chick-fil-a.  I indulged in chicken sandwich and french fries downed with a Diet Coke.  I bet you are thinking, “Wait a minute, is this what she considers healthy?”  No my friends, it is not.  Fortunately though, most of my meals today so far have been better.  I started out making healthified french toast late in the morning.  I ran a blistering hot 5K and then snacked on some Greek yogurt and bananas.  I was pretty hungry by dinner time since I never really had a lunch.  I felt that deserved some yummy chicken.  I will always stand by Chick-fil-a because…FUN FACT(!)–I worked there!  I can attribute some of my weight gain post freshman year to that.  I rarely ate there when I worked there but not because I found out some horrible secret about how they cook their food, on the contrary, I found that they are so clean and use very fresh ingredients.  It truly was just as appetizing to cook and eat there as it was in my own kitchen. And soo…Happy Cinco De Mayo! I hope you are having a fun and safe Saturday.  I am going to hang out with the boyfriend for a few hours before I head to bed.

-Emily

Leave a Reply

