Finals are DONE!

I am so happy to be done with the toughest semester of my life.  I took 18 hours and worked every afternoon.  I was wiped out after this semester but I am ready to get through an even tougher summer schedule.  Just for those interest…I am taking a Maymester class starting next Monday at KSU.  It jams an entire semester into 2 weeks.  Wish me luck! So now that I have exactly 5 days left to relax, I am definitely planning on doing so.  With that being said, hopefully I can dedicate more time to this blog. I didn’t post yesterday because I was busy finishing up finals, working and catching up with my best friend who just got home from college.

I had a pretty healthy day yesterday and that means I am feeling even more motivated today! Trying to keep it up! Yesterday started out with a smoothie…

  • 1 frozen banana
  • chocolate pudding mix (about 2 spoons full)
  • about 3/4 cup of vanilla greek yogurt
  • coffee
  • splash of vanilla Coffee Mate creamer
  • ice

It tasted like a Starbucks frappacino! Freezing a cut up banana before using it in your smoothie makes the smoothie much colder and creamier without having to add a lot of ice.  This smoothie was kind of an accident.  I usually like frozen berries with my smoothie and a banana but we are out of frozen fruit.  Sometimes necessity derives creativity!

Lunch was also delicious.  I had a whole wheat tortilla wrap that was filled with turkey deli meat, a wedge of Laughing  Cow garlic and herb cheese, lettuce and onion.  I made sure to pack the wrap with veggies to fill my tummy.  It worked and the wrap was so delicious and kept me full through my math final. 

At work today around 3 I started getting hungry again and had a snack size bag of Sun Chips.  The kids I work with hate the regular Sun Chips and always want the Cheddar.  The smell of the Cheddar Sun Chips literally makes me gag so I am always glad when the regular flavor is available.

I was hungry again by 5:30 and was for once glad that my family eats dinner super early (my mom and dad are both early to bed, early to rise people so they eat pretty early to let their food settle).  We had homemade chicken pot pie and an apple.  It was delicious and comforting.  I was glad I kept my portions small because I met up with my friend Samantha for frozen yogurt later in the evening.

Image

This is my best friend Samantha.  How gorgeous is she? We have been best friends since 3rd grade.  I just love when she comes home for the summer from pharmacy school (her family lives a street behind me).

I headed out to Target to return my mom’s  Mother’s Day gift before meeting Samantha for Menchies Frozen Yogurt.  My mom asked for a toaster oven for Mother’s Day so I went out with my sister to find one.  The day after buying it my mom and dad come home from Costco with a brand new toaster oven.  Lame.  So I swapped the toaster for Dolce and Gabbana Light Blue perfume.  I think my mom will love it even more than the toaster. 😉

After Target I met Samantha at Menchies and of course ran into a few kids from work.  It’s fun seeing them out but I sometimes feel awkward.  I guess I will have to get used to it if I want to be a teacher! I opted for a mix of the red velvet and cheese cake yogurt.  Since I didn’t get many berries in my smoothie earlier, I topped my yogurt with lots of strawberries and blueberries (as well as sprinkles and a few cheesecake pieces…my favorite). We talked for a good hour and a half and when I got home it was getting dark.  I had wanted to run but running in the dark makes me anxious.  I decided to go out anyway and try to get it done quickly and stay close to home.  I always bring my iPhone so that makes me feel a bit safer.  I can’t wait for the day that I can get a dog and have him as my running buddy. 

I started out my run feeling strong.  I made it about a mile and a half when I started getting cramps in my stomach.  My stomach felt like it was ready to pop if I pressed too hard on it.  I had my headphones in so I can’t be sure but I think my stomach might have released some pressure if you know what I mean.  (Too much?…sorry).  I walked the mile back to my house feeling pretty bummed.  I laid on the couch the rest of the night and watched Smash with my sister.  That show is my new obsession. I downloaded a few of their songs and they make great running songs!

Until next time!

-Emily

Leave a Reply

